During today’s PlayStation 5 event, Capcom revealed the next entry in the Resident Evil franchise: Resident Evil 8: Village. The eight entry is set to follow the events of Resident Evil 7: Biohazard while also bringing back the main series protagonist, Chris Redfield. This title utilizes the new RE Engine which was seen in both Resident Evil and 3 Remakes, as well as  in order to bring “the most realistic and terrifying graphics to date.”

Resident Evil 8

Capcom also provided a glimpse into what the story will look like:

“Set a few years after the critically acclaimed Resident Evil 7 biohazard, the all-new storyline begins with Ethan and his wife Mia living peacefully in a new location, free from their past nightmares. Just as they are building their new life together, tragedy befalls them once again. Chris Redfield, the legendary hero from the Resident Evil™ series who made a brief appearance in Resident Evil 7 biohazard, is reacquainted with the couple and horribly disrupts their life, leaving Ethan devastated and thrown into an entirely new nightmare.

The first-person action in Resident Evil Village begins when players assume the role of a distraught and shattered Ethan as he seeks to uncover the mysterious new horrors that plague a once peaceful village. Throughout this terrifying journey, players will fight for every breath as they are hunted by vicious new enemies that have infested the snow-capped locale. Channeling the capabilities of next generation consoles, the detailed realism and relentless feeling of fear will increase with each desperate battle for survival, while moments of calm will leave players wondering what new horrors await.”

Resident Evil 8

Resident Evil 8: Village is scheduled for a 2021 release for Xbox One Series X, PlayStation 5, and Steam. More information regarding this title is set to come at a later date.

Source: Capcom PR

About The Author

Executive Editor

Related Posts